Before the river Stort was re-routed away from the town centre in the late 1960s, the small house at the rear of Cooper’s yard sat right on the water’s edge

When Jackson Square was built in 1974, entrance from Bridge street was via a circular concrete rampway. This was replaced in 1991 by a modern glass entrance designed to represent the town mill that previously stood on the site

The original 16th century Shades public house was unique in the fact that its name was unknown anywhere else in Hertfordshire or Essex. Rebuilt of brick in the early 1900s, it was demolished in 1972

The timber-clad town mill pictured shortly before it was demolished in 1892

Coopers of Stortford
pictured in the early 1980s
when the store traded under
the name of Hanscombs

The photograph on the left, taken in the mid 1800s, shows a man tending his horse outside Morse’s Wine Store – later to become the town post office. The building to the left of the man is now Coopers of Stortford, the small bay window since replaced by a modern shop window. The picture on the right shows the same building that housed the wine store, and is currently occupied by Photosound.

These shops in Bridge Street were originally built as private houses in the 17th century

How the Black Lion looked in 1865 before restoration in 1889 exposed its timber framework. The jetty to the right of the inn – once a part of it – was later demolished and replaced by the brick built building that stands today.

Purpose built as the town post office in 1890, this building was completely renovated and refurbished in 2003 and is now occupied by a branch of the Saffron Walden Herts & Essex Building Society.

[ BACK TO TOP ]


BRIDGE STREETCOOPERS OF STORTFORDTHE BLACK LIONTHE STAR INNDEVOILS LANE


copyright© Paul Ailey 2004